
UK University Deposit for International Students: When You Pay and When You Get It Back
TL;DR: A UK university deposit for international students is usually paid after your offer becomes unconditional and before the university issues your CAS. Amounts range from £1,000 to the full first-year fee, depending on the university and where you apply from. Most universities refund it if your visa is refused, but the rules differ: some deduct an admin fee, some refuse refunds after a credibility or deception refusal, and at least one lists no visa-refusal refund at all.
The UK university deposit for international students is the first large payment most applicants make, and it often goes out before anyone has read the refund policy. The deposit is also the step that unlocks your Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS), so it sits right on the path to your visa.
Here is how it works, what real universities charge, and what to check before you pay.
Not sure whether your offer conditions and finances are ready for the CAS stage? Check your eligibility with Prosper.
What a UK university deposit is and when you pay it
A tuition deposit is an advance payment toward your first year's fees. You normally pay it once you have met your offer conditions and accepted an unconditional offer. In return, the university reserves your place and moves you to the CAS stage.
The link to your CAS is direct. The University of Manchester says the deposit must be paid before your electronic CAS is issued. The University of Sheffield says it will not arrange your CAS until the deposit is paid. The University of Leeds issues the CAS only after the deposit or evidence of an exemption, and no earlier than six months before your course starts.
The deposit is not an extra fee. Leeds, Manchester, Birmingham and Sheffield all deduct it from your tuition when you register. It also lowers what you must show for your visa. The University of Westminster explains that your CAS lists your total fees and the amount already paid, and you only hold the remainder: on £17,000 of fees with £5,500 paid, you show £11,500 for fees, plus living costs. Read more in our guide to the UK student visa 28-day rule.
Want a second view on your offer, fees and funds before you pay a deposit?
How much UK universities ask for
University | Deposit (taught postgraduate) | Paid before CAS? |
|---|---|---|
University of Manchester | Minimum £1,000, up to the full tuition fee | Yes |
University of Leeds | £2,000 for applicants who need a Student visa, due four weeks before the course starts | Yes |
Nottingham Business School | £2,000 course deposit, plus a separate CAS deposit for visa applicants | Yes |
University of Birmingham | £3,000, unless you hold a scholarship or financial guarantee | Not stated |
University of Hull | £4,000 base deposit | Not stated |
University of Sheffield | Compulsory unless a recognised sponsor pays at least half the fee; amount shown in its payment system | Yes |
Figures are from each university's own page and can change by intake, so check the page for your course and start date.
When you get your deposit back
This is where universities differ most, and it is the part to read before you pay.
Visa refused: the University of Manchester says a refund is available only if your visa is refused. Imperial College London gives a full refund on a refusal when you provide the UKVI refusal letter. Birmingham and Sheffield also refund on a refusal, with evidence, by a set date.
Admin fees: UWE Bristol refunds a refused applicant's deposit minus a £500 admin fee, and returns the £500 if the refusal is overturned on Administrative Review. Hull deducts 5% of the minimum deposit, capped at £200.
Refusals for credibility or deception: Hull gives no refund when UKVI refuses for credibility, deception or misrepresentation, unless the refusal is overturned. Birmingham, Sheffield, Nottingham, UWE and Imperial all exclude refusals linked to fraud or false documents.
Conditions on how you applied: UWE requires you to apply for your visa at least 15 working days before the latest start date and gives no refund for a missed visa appointment or for more than one refusal on funds or documents.
No visa-refusal refund listed: the University of Leeds's taught postgraduate fees page lists three refund grounds: a request within 14 days of payment, evidence that a sponsor will pay in full, and some pre-sessional cases. A visa refusal is not one of them.
Many universities, including Birmingham, Sheffield, Nottingham and UWE, also give a full refund for any reason if you ask within 14 days of paying or accepting.
A lesson from a lost deposit
The PIE News reported in September that a family lost a £4,000 deposit paid to a UK university through an online payment link after a visa deadline was missed. The university said its policy is to refund deposits until a CAS is issued. The safest habits are simple: pay the university directly through the payment route in your offer, keep every receipt, and know your refund deadline before you pay.
Five checks before you pay
Your offer is unconditional and you have accepted it.
You have read the refund policy for your intake, including any admin fee and request deadline.
You pay through the university's official payment route, in your name or your sponsor's.
Your funds are ready, because the CAS often arrives soon after payment. See our guide to the CAS and what to check.
You know your visa timeline, so a missed appointment does not cost you the refund.
Applying from Sri Lanka
Refunds normally go back to the original payer by the original method. Teesside University notes that bank transfer refunds can take up to several months, so pay from an account you can keep open.
FAQ
Is the UK university deposit refundable if my visa is refused? Usually, with the refusal letter as evidence, but not everywhere. Some universities deduct an admin fee, most exclude refusals for deception, and Leeds lists no visa-refusal refund for taught postgraduates.
Do I have to pay a deposit before getting my CAS? At many universities, yes. Manchester, Sheffield, Leeds and Coventry all link the CAS to the deposit.
Does the deposit reduce the money I show for my visa? Yes. Fees already paid appear on your CAS and reduce the course fees you must show. Westminster notes the CAS is not updated automatically if you pay more later.
How much is a UK university deposit for students from Sri Lanka? It depends on the university. Examples range from £1,000 at Manchester to £8,000 at Coventry for countries outside its named bands.
Can I get my deposit back if I change my mind? Often within 14 days of paying or accepting. After that, most universities limit refunds to specific reasons.
Is the deposit an extra cost? No. It is deducted from your first-year tuition when you register.
PS: A deposit is easy to pay and hard to recover, so the time to check the refund rules is before the money leaves your account. If you want help reading your offer, refund terms and funds together, check your eligibility with Prosper and we will walk through it with you.
References
Postgraduate taught fees guidance, University of Leeds. https://leeds.ac.uk/pgfeesguidance
Tuition fee deposits for international master's students, University of Manchester. https://www.manchester.ac.uk/study/masters/fees/international-students/tuition-fee-deposits
Deposit refund policy, postgraduate taught, University of Birmingham. https://birmingham.ac.uk/university/colleges/professional/external/admissions/deposit-refund-policy-pgt
Fee deposits, University of Sheffield. https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/fees/fee-deposits/requested
Course deposits FAQ, University of Nottingham. https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/fabs/finance/frequentlyaskedquestions/course-deposits.aspx
How to apply, international, Coventry University. https://www.coventry.ac.uk/international/howtoapply
Will I get a refund if I cannot come to the university, University of Hull. https://www.hull.ac.uk/help-centre/international-students/will-i-get-a-refund-if-i-cannot-come-to-the-university
Refund policy for international deposits, UWE Bristol. https://uwe.ac.uk/courses/fees/paying-your-fees/international-student-payment/refund-policy-for-international-deposits
Postgraduate application deposit refunds, Imperial College London. https://www.imperial.ac.uk/study/fees-and-funding/tuition-fees/payment-terms/postgraduate-application-deposits/refunds/
International payments, Teesside University. https://www.tees.ac.uk/sections/international/payment.cfm
Financial requirements and the 28-day rule, University of Westminster. https://www.westminster.ac.uk/international/visas-and-advice/visas/student-visa/financial-requirements-and-the-28-day-rule
Pakistani education consultant arrested over deposit withheld by UK uni, The PIE News. https://thepienews.com/?p=276816

